Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare has announced two extreme difficulty modes for those that want an extra challenge.


On Activation’s Blog they explained that Specialist mode can be unlocked if players finish the Infinite Warfare campaign on any difficulty. The game mode is explained as “intensely realistic and not for the faint of heart,” and will include the following restrictions.

  • Np health regeneration. Healing from Nano Shots only
  • Helmets take permanent damage and need to be replaced
  • Nano shots and helmets take up equipment slots
  • Movement impacted by receiving leg shots
  • Aim down sights and equipment use affected by receving arm shots
  • Enemies can shoot weapons out of your hands

They have stated that the cover mechanics are essential to master if you want to survive this mode. Another difficulty mode called YOLO is unlocked after beating specialist mode. This mode is permadeath.

It’s a breath of fresh air to hear that Call of Duty is putting effort into the campaign again, no matter if the gaming community seems to not like the game already or not. We don’t know if the story will be good, but if they are putting this kind of emphasis onto it, then they must be returning to their roots.


About The Author

Ian M
Senior Staff Writer

Ian is a 21 year old small town guy from Pennsylvania. He currently attends Temple University as a transfer student majoring in English. He has been playing and talking about video games since he was three years old starting out with the Nintendo 64. The first game he ever played was Super Mario 64, which he can absolutely destroy and knows every secret. His two favorite games of all time include Legend of Zelda Majora's Mask (N64), and Bloodborne. During the school year he is drowning in school work, and in the summer he takes his time to catch up on his favorite hobbies.