Turner Sports and IMG’s esports venture, ELEAGUE, are set to host the next Counter-Strike: Global Offensive Major in January of 2018. The Boston University’s Agganis Arena will play host to Counter Strike’s most lucrative tournament, which boasts a $1,000,000 prize pool.

The organization announced the news on Thursday, and it will be the second time the broadcasting giants will have hosted a Counter-Strike Major, with the last one being in the same month at the beginning of 2017.

The major qualifier, which will run from the 12th of January until the 15th of January, will be hosted at the ELEAGUE Arena, which is in the Turner Studios in Atlanta. In these qualifiers, the teams that have made it through their regional minors will compete for a spot at the major itself. Two teams from Asia, the Americas, Europe and CIS will qualify for participation in the main qualifier.  From there, only eight challenger teams can prevail from the major qualifier.

Once the eight challenger teams are locked, the group stages will commence just four days after the major qualifier ends. The group stages will run from the 19th of January through until the 22nd of January. This stage of the tournament will also be played in the Turner Studios, which is situated in Atlanta, Georgia.

After the group stages finish, only eight teams will remain. These eight teams will then travel to Boston, Massachusetts, to play in front of a live audience at the Agganis Arena at Boston University. The knockout stages of the tournament will run from the 26th of January through to the 28th of January.

In a news release,  Craig Barry, chief content officer at Turner Sports stated:

“We’re looking forward to hosting our second ELEAGUE Major in back to back years and bringing a CS:GO championship to Boston for the first time. Following the record-setting engagement during last year’s ELEAGUE Major, we appreciate Valve’s ongoing trust in us and all of the continued support from the esports community.”

Turner and IMG have an impressive track record with Counter-Strike, as the broadcasting giants have hosted two Counter-Strike tournaments, which were ELEAGUE Season 1 and 2, and are in the middle of the ELEAGUE Premier. They were also hosts of the first major of 2017, which took place at the Fox Theatre in Atlanta. ELEAGUE has also ventured into other esport titles, such as Street Fighter V and Overwatch.

The top eight from the PGL Major this year will be directly invited to the group stages of the major in 2018. PGL Major Champions Gambit, Astralis, Immortals, Virtus.pro, Fnatic, SK Gaming, BIG, and North will be invited as legend teams. The other eight teams that played at the PGL Major will be issued direct invites to the major qualifier.

Immortals’ legends’ status remains in doubt following the internal issues the team faced after Dreamhack Montreal. Valve’s rules state that Immortals will retain their legends status if three-fifths of the roster remain with the organization, which is looking incredibly unlikely as kng had been released from his contract, and with LUCAS1 and HEN1 requesting a transfer from Immortals.

Coverage of the major will include the minors, the main qualifier, the group stage and the knockout stages. All of these matches can be found on

TwitchELEAGUE Live Game CommandYouTube and TBS.

Header Image Credit: Dexerto 


About The Author

Esports Manager

My first video game was Tonka Construction for the PC. I played that in 2000, at 3 years of age, and have been hooked by video games ever since. I like to dabble in as many games as I possibly can, but nothing can come close to a captivating story, an intense multiplayer experience or a well made RTS game. In 2015, I found what can only be described as passion and love for esports. Now I convey that passion, love and knowledge through articles about esports titles, most notably Counter Strike.