If you have been waiting for Microsoft’s co-op pirate sim Sea of Thieves, this closed beta will feature a “bespoke experience” that’s been specially made to show off the pillaging and plunder Sea of Thieves has in store.

Here’severything you need to get started on your adventure, including how to get access, the times that you can play, when you can download the beta client and what to expect from your time.

The beta will be on both PC and console. And expect to meet each other too, the game will support cross platform play between Xbox One and PC.

Beta start time

The Sea of Thieves closed beta will start on Wednesday, January 24th from:

  • GMT – 12PM
  • CET – 1PM
  • EST – 7AM
  • PST – 4AM

Beta end time

The Sea of Thieves closed beta will end on Monday, January 29th at:

  • GMT – 8AM
  • CET – 9AM
  • EST – 3AM
  • PST – 12AM

How to get Sea of Thieves beta key:

If you  pre-order the game digitally through the Xbox or Microsoft store, then the beta will appear automatically. If you’ve ordered through a different retailer, then you have to redeem the code you were given for the “Black Dog cosmetic pack”. Once you’ve done that, the beta should appear automatically for you as well.

Beta pre-load

The Sea of Thieves closed beta will be available for pre-load 24 hours before it goes live.

If you’ve redeemed your Insider Program or pre-order code, the client should appear automatically 24 hours before it starts.

What is in the Beta’s content?

The Sea of Thieves beta won’t feature the full game, or even a subsection of it but it will keep “a good selection of things up [their] sleeves for players to discover at launch.” So expect just a fun time roaming, explaoring, and plundering the high seas.

Sea of Thieves will launch on simultaneously on PC and Xbox One on March 20, 2018. Will you be playing the beta? Tell us in the comments below Matey!

 

Source

About The Author

John D
Chief Operating Officer

I have worked hard to become the COO here at GAW and I love it. I write and stream here and I couldn't be happier. I once had a show that I produced, wrote, and co-hosted called the Wide World of Games. I also co-host a podcast called Party Up! I'm an Action-Adventurer, platformer, RPGer, and FPS kind of gamer. Quick to play any game that has magic, swordplay, and/or stealthy elements. If you can customize a character I'm in it for the long haul. Or just give me your 2D platform and I'm a happy camper. What else do you expect from a gamer with a beard and a bow tie tattoo? Seriously.